High Quality Ignorance – Week 2 Review

I went into this week with a completely different mindset than last week.  Last week I felt myself thinking there was no way I could succeed in this class, whereas this week my thinking was more along the lines of, “I can do this, but it is going to take a lot of hard work and a lot of failure before I succeed.”  One of the first times we heard from Remi, just before we began our work in this course, he mentioned that this class should bring out “high quality ignorance” in all of us.  I love that.  I saved it as a note on my phone.  I was talking with my mom about this class and I told her that this class has made me feel like I know nothing on more than one occasion to which she replied, “that’s too bad.”  I had a hard time explaining to her that I meant it in the best way possible!

I stepped out of my comfort zone a little this week with my audio assignment and my daily creates.  I didn’t skim through the projects looking for something that I knew I could easily find success with as I did last week, but rather looked for projects that were tasks I had no experience with.  I stuck with projects that didn’t require a whole lot of technical know how, but that made me a little nervous at first glance. I was pretty proud of the way it all turned out.

I am loving the community of this class.  I love the interactions on hypothesis – I find that I get so much more out of the readings than I have in any other class.  I also have found that hypothesis keeps me honest – I have a tendency to skim long readings, but having annotations to read from my peers has me wanting to make sure I truly understand the content they are referring to.  I’ve also found guidance from previous communities that have taken this course as well as other outside members of the ds106 communities.  I would not have been able to complete my audio assignment without the tutorial from another member of ds106.  It is great to have that support.

Overall this week I would say that I am floating somewhere between meeting and exceeding expectations both in work production and effort.  I had a much better attitude coming into this week and I think it showed in my work and I know it had an impact on the effort I was willing to put into it.  Looking forward to the learning to come!

Leave a Reply

