My first video asSIGNment

For this video assignment the task was to take a video of yourself or someone else and finger spell a word or a phrase in Sign Language alphabet and let others guess what you have spelled.  I chose this assignment for a couple of different reasons.  The first being that this next year I will have a student in my class with significant hearing loss.  At this point, she still has some hearing, and for the most part will be able to access typical day to day instruction with the help of hearing aids and a speaker located next to her (I will be wearing a microphone around my neck).  However she will, most likely, eventually lose her hearing all together.  She is currently learning sign language, and has taught some of her peers bits and pieces  of what she has learned, but I think about her struggles often.

The second reason I chose this assignment is that, at one point in my life, I was fluent in ASL.  I took ASL courses that were offered at a local community college throughout high school.  Sadly, since then, I have not used it at all. In this case the saying “use it or lose it” is absolutely true.  I don’t remember much at all of what I learned in those courses, and even needed to refresh my memory on the alphabet to make sure I was spelling this word correctly!

The technical aspects of this assignment were pretty simple and straightforward.  I used my phone  to film myself signing the word I chose (it took several takes to get it without messing up and without toddler chatter in the background).  I then edited a few seconds from the beginning and end of the video on my phone, and then I uploaded the video to youtube.  I hope you can “read” my word!

 

Leave a Reply

