What is Machinima? Digital Story Critique #3

For this week’s story critique, I steered a little off course.  The video that I will be critiquing doesn’t have much – or anything really – to do with the world of education, other than the fact that I used it to further my own.  While I was reading this week’s chapter on DIY I found myself inundated with new vocabulary words that, at times, made it hard for me to gather much meaning from what I was reading.  One such word was “machinima”  that seemed to pop up often.  I had never heard of this word before (and was mispronouncing it in my head, which really annoys me).  I sort of skimmed over the word several times until I found myself googling, “what is machinima”.  My google search did not disappoint, as it led me to this video:

I loved this video.  It made me laugh, and by the end, I had a new word that I understood and could pronounce.  So I figured, why not critique it?  This week I will be looking at the following traits:

  1. Project Planning
  2. Sense of Audience
  3. Media Application

Project Planning: It is obvious that a lot of time and thought went into this video.  This could have very easily been a person sitting in front of a camera, explaining what machinima is, and I would have still gotten the same information.  The person responsible for this video instead chose to make their own machinima in order to explain what it is, which clearly takes a lot of time and effort.  The backgrounds, characters, and actions all matched the script perfectly and it is clear that a lot of thought went into the making of this video.

Sense of Audience: I think, based on my google search, that I am the exact audience that this video was meant to reach.  Someone who doesn’t know what the word machinima means, and has certainly never seen any machinima.  With that in mind, I think the creator did a good job of keeping his audience in mind, as my questions were answered.  There were even some (very basic) how to steps at the end of the video that could serve as a starting point for someone looking to create their own piece of work.  Because of some of the language and scenes in the video it seems this was meant for a more mature audience, but I found myself laughing throughout as well as learning what I had intended to learn, so I can’t complain about the creator’s sense of audience.

Media Application: As I said, for my purposes in watching this video, the media was not completely necessary.  However, it greatly increased not only my understanding  of what was being discussed, but also my engagement.  Had there not been interesting and entertaining scenes to watch while machinima was being explained, I probably would have stopped the video after the first sentence or two once I had a basic definition of the word.  the media seemed, to me – a completely untrained person in the world of video gaming and machinima, pretty sophisticated.  Reading through some of the comments on the video it seems I am not alone in this assessment.

This is the first week that I really don’t have any suggestions as to how this digital story could be improved.  It was entertaining and informative and the media that accompanied the information was done very well in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

