Week 4 Review

Week 4 was tough for me – though it had very little to do with the class.  I came down with a stomach virus that took me out for most of the week.  At first I thought that the fact that I was just lying around all week (and actually had someone else take my son for a few days) would make it easy to get my classwork done, but I found out pretty quickly that I couldn’t look at my computer screen for more than 5 to 10 minutes at a time without getting sick.  It had to chunk up my work into small bits, but I completed all of the assignments (although I should probably go back and read through my posts now that I can stand to look at a computer screen).

Despite my inability to look at my screen, I didn’t find that I had technical difficulty this week.  The design assignment took me some time and wasn’t as easy as I had thought it might be, but it was nothing I couldn’t work through on my own.  I was probably the last member of my group to get to the reading this week (see above) which turned out to be a blessing and a curse.  I liked the fact that as I read I could already see what was being discussed and had a lot of different views on the reading readily available.  I did find, however, that I was pretty prone to reading the annotations even before I got to that part of the reading, which I began to think might be making it difficult for me to form independent thoughts and opinions.  I continue to learn a lot from my classmates, though, so I can’t complain.  The reading really opened my eyes a lot about blogging, and the benefits and implications it can have.

My biggest issue this week, as it pertains to my focal theme, was that I was looking for some specific information (some step by step ideas of how to get students up and running on blogs, and perhaps some student blog examples), and I just couldn’t find it.  I found a few broad articles and plenty of research about how blogging can be useful in the classroom, but it will definitely take some more digging before I feel comfortable actually implementing blogging as a regular practice for my students.

Although I think my work this week did not go beyond meeting expectations in terms of quality, my effort this week actually exceeded expectations.  I struggled, a lot, to even open my computer this week, but I still made sure I met the expectations, and that I didn’t leave my group hanging.

Leave a Reply

